Ahara malas-the residual products in your body

Waste materials in the body-Malas

An important topic in human physiology (Sharira Kirya) of Ayurveda is Mala(s) which also is a concept of Panchabhoota, the five principal elements of life.

Mala(s) are waste substances or products which are and must be eliminated by the body to maintain health.

As a result of metabolic processes, ingested food and waste products are formed continuously. If waste products are not being created, beneficial products nourish and build the tissue. 

Malas are known as dushya-pollutants and is the effect caused by Vikruti, the imbalance.

Ayurveda lists two main types of malas:
1. Ahara malas which include 3 biological actions;
a)feces (purisha),
b)urine (mutra), and
c)sweat (sveda).

2. Dhatu malas are waste from tissue metabolism-represent the secretion of the nose, eyes, ears, lactic acid, carbon dioxide, exfoliated skin, hair, and nails, and include 7 biological actions:

a)Rasa (dhatus)-plasma
b)Rakta (dhatus)-blood
c)Mamsa (dhatus)-muscles
d)Medas (dhatus)-fat
e)Asthi (dhatus)-bones
f)Majja (dhatus)-nervous system
g)Shukra (dhatus)-reproductive tissue

Ahara Mala

The three biological actions of Ahara mala must be and remain in balance to a regular and proper elimination, and for this Vata-Pitta-Kapha balance is necessary.

The biological element fire of Pitta and the natural element earth of Kapha have the vital role of digestion.

The biological element air of Vatta governs the movement and mobility of Pitta and Kapha in the digestive process.

Any sort of discrepancy and imbalance of 3 Doshas and also the three biological actions lead to numerous symptoms.

Through daily digestion are generate 3 different ways to eliminate the ``waste materials`` :

1.Feces-stool (purisha) is related by the element-earth-which represent Kapha Dosha.

Stools are waste products of the gastrointestinal system, occur as a result of defecation is semisolid state and look like a smooth, soft sausage when you are healthy.

When the feces increase (vriddhi) abdominal pain, flatulence,
heaviness appears.

When stools decrease (ksaya) abdominal pain, asthma, bloating, low back pain, osteoarthritis appears.

2.Urine (mutra)-is related by the element-water and fire and represent Pitta Dosha.

The waste-products liquid, urine, is secreted by kidneys which filter unwanted substances from the blood and excrete them.

The three main steps of urine formation (reabsorption, filtration, glomerular, and secretion) ensures that only waste and excess of water is removed from the system.

When urine increase (Vriddhi), bladder disorders, urinary frequency, and urinary tract infection appears.

When urine decrease (Ksaya), chronic thirst, kidney stones, lower abdominal pain, reduced urine appears.

3.Sweat (sveda)- is related by the element-water and represent Kapha Dosha.

Sveda (sweat) is the production of fluids secreted by the sweat glands (eccrine sweat) which have the vital role for temperature control; sebaceous glands, which lubricates the skin; and hair follicles, which regulates hair growth through a complex interaction between hormones, neuropeptides, and immune cells.

When sweat increase (vriddhi), body odor, constipation, hard perspiration, skin fungus, and itching appears.

When sweat decrease (Ksaya), burning sensation, dry, hot, skin, low sweating appears.

Read about Dhatu malas-Tissue metabolism.

Read about the 7 tissue metabolism-7 Dhatu malas
1)Rasa (dhatus)-plasma
2)Rakta (dhatus)-blood
3)Mamsa (dhatus)-muscles
4)Medas (dhatus)-fat
5)Asthi (dhatus)-bones
6)Majja (dhatus)-nervous system
7)Shukra (dhatus)-reproductive tissue

Read also: #Your unique body and mind type-Dosha                                                     # What are The Five Elements of Life?